MIS PhD Awards and Scholarships


The MIS Department is pleased to announce the following doctoral awards and scholarships:

Paul S. and Shirley Goodman Award

The Paul S. and Shirley Goodman award was established in 1997 by former MIS professor Seymour Goodman in honor of his parents Paul S. and Shirley Goodman.

The award is given to MIS doctoral students who excel professionally in the study of international developments in the field of computer science.

Seymour (Sy) E. Goodman is professor of International Affairs and Computing at the Sam Nunn School of International Affairs and the College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology. He also serves as co-director of the Center for International Strategy, Technology and Policy, and co-director of the Georgia Tech Information Security Center.

Goodman studies international developments in information technologies and related public policy issues. In this capacity, he has more than 200 publications and served on many academic, government and industry advisory, study and editorial committees.

He has been the international perspectives editor for the Communications of the ACM for the last 19 years and has studied computing on all seven continents in about 100 countries.

He recently served as chair of the committee on Improving Cybersecurity Research in the United States, National Research Council and as a member of the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board of the National Academies of Science and Engineering.

Hongyi Zhu 

Hongyi Zhu is a PhD student at the University of Arizona’s Artificial Intelligence (AI) Lab in the Management Information Systems (MIS) department. As a research associate in the lab, Zhu has primarily worked on designing advanced unobtrusive mobile analytical frameworks for smart home care. His research focuses on recognition, extraction and analysis of subjects’ in-house behaviors (e.g., motion, activities, object usage) from raw mobile sensors data. For example, Zhu developed the major middleware of a National Science Foundation (NSF) funded sensor-based home monitoring/data collection system for senior care. He also developed a novel activity state representation for the Sequence-to-Sequence model to recognize Activities of Daily Living (ADLs) for arbitrary sensor combinations. This framework exploited the temporal behavioral patterns of the residents and is generalizable to the emerging smart home environments for daily activity surveillance. This work has been published in one of the major journals in health informatics and analytics. Zhu further proposed a novel hierarchical, multi-phase, deep-learning based ADL recognition framework to extract motion semantics at various granularities (e.g., human-object interactions, gestures, ADLs) for enhanced interpretability. In addition to mobile health analytics, Zhu is interested in other domains of research with high societal impact such as technology outcome/knowledge dissemination assessment and cybersecurity. He is dedicated to contributing to advanced business intelligence and data analytics methodologies. 

Nunamaker-Chen Scholarship

The Nunamaker-Chen MIS Doctoral Scholarship was established in 2013 in honor of two University of Arizona MIS Regents’ professors, Jay Nunamaker and Hsinchun Chen, who have made significant contributions to the field of Information Systems over the past four decades.

Only two awards (of $1,500 each) are given each fall. The recipients are selected by the MIS PhD committee for their hard work, determination and commitment to the MIS tradition, particularly that of design science research. The scholarship provides a stipend for incoming PhD students in their first year of study.

Fall 2019

  • Benjamin Ampel 
  • Steven Ullman

Fall 2018

  • Fang Yu Lin
  • Xinran (Rebecca) Wang

Fall 2017

  • Yuanxia Li
  • Hao Liu

Fall 2016

  • Kyuhan Lee
  • Sandeep Suntwal

Fall 2015

  • Bradley Walls
  • Jiaheng Xie

Fall 2014

  • Luwen Huangfu
  • Shuo Yu

Fall 2013

  • Bradley Dorn
  • Steve Pentland

James F. LaSalle Teaching Excellence Award

The James F. LaSalle Teaching Excellence Award is given every spring to an MIS graduate student instructor who exemplifies the best of teaching and who is following Jim LaSalle's example of excellence in the classroom. This award was established in honor of Professor Jim LaSalle who taught at the Eller College for more than 40 years and was the professor cited by the most students as having had an impact on their undergraduate education. LaSalle retired from teaching in 2004 and, according to UA’s Alumni Association, taught more than 50,000 students during his UA teaching career.

Past Awardees

  • 2019 Jiaheng Xie
  • 2017 Karthik Srinivasan
  • 2016 Sagar Samtani
  • 2015 Rich Yueh
  • 2014 Mark Grimes
  • 2013 Justin Giboney
  • 2012 Yi-Da Chen
  • 2011 Katherine Carl
  • 2010 Heong Lee
  • 2009 Nichalin Suakkaphong
  • 2008 Eyran Gisches
  • 2007 Siddharth Kaza
  • 2006 Matthew Jensen