Eller MBA Once Again Honors Women Who Shine

March 30, 2022

On February 25, Eller MBA once again hosted the Women Who Shine event to celebrate and honor outstanding students, alumni, faculty and community members.

Directors of the Eller MBA programs nominated individuals who are highly engaged with the college and community, excel academically and exemplify what it means to be a leader. 

Students, alumni, faculty and community members gathered at Tohono Chul to celebrate and honor individuals making a difference for women in business, advocating for diversity, equity and inclusion, and exemplifying what it means to be a leader.

The awardees were women who have championed the fight for equality, supported others, influenced their communities and worked to advance women professionally. Allies were also recognized for embodying Eller’s values and advocating for diversity, equity and inclusion in the workplace. 

The event, which had 120 attendees, included networking, brunch and a program where honorees shared their insights on leadership, building others, equity in the workplace and how women and allies have supported them throughout their careers.

Nominations were then reviewed by the Women Who Shine committee, which consists of Eller students and staff from all disciplines and programs. 

The following individuals received awards during the event: 

Shining Students Award—awarded to second-year MBA students from Full-Time, Evening and Online programs. 

  • Aliza Benitez ‘23   
  • Joe Diaz ‘22 
  • Lauren Von Osten Gelso ‘22
  • Jairo Martinez ‘22 
  • Kiza Miller ‘22 
  • Trenton Corvino ‘22

Sunlight Award — awarded to faculty who act as leaders within Eller/UArizona community. 

  • Hope Schau, professor of marketing, Executive Director of the McGuire Center for Entrepreneurship and James and Pamela Muzzy Chair in Entrepreneurship
  • Michael Mandel, senior lecturer of business communication

Lighting the Way Award — awarded to alumni who have demonstrated leadership and commitment to equality in the workplace.  

  • Rashmi Wilson ‘21
  • Lisa Rulney '15, Senior Vice President for Business Affairs and Chief Financial Officer 
  • Cristie Street ‘06

Daybreak Award — awarded to community mentors who have been an ally for women in business in the Tucson community. 

  • Dominic Ortega

Sunburst Award — awarded to business leaders in Tucson who have been an advocate for women in business and support diversity, equity and inclusion in their organization. 

  • Carlotta Flores