Economics PhD Program


The Economics doctoral program at Arizona prepares students for positions in universities, in the private sector and in government and nonprofit organizations.

Students work closely with faculty, and most students receive financial support for their entire residency in the department. The department's faculty has long been among the world's best in experimental economics and in economic history. The department also maintains a strong focus on microeconomics, particularly industrial organization and labor economics. Some of our students choose a concentration in financial economics, and we offer a PhD in agricultural and resource economics in conjunction with the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics.

Program Overview

The first year of a student's program, and part of the second year, are devoted to comprehensive coursework in the modern concepts and techniques of economic theory and econometrics. The preliminary exam for the PhD occurs at the end of the first year.

During the second and third years students work closely with the faculty in seminar courses and workshops. It's here that students make the transition to doing their own research. The close faculty-student interaction often leads students into collaborative research with one or more faculty members.

Subsequent time in the program is devoted to completing the dissertation.

The department also emphasizes the development of high-quality teaching. A seminar on teaching develops teaching methods and skills. Students serve as teaching assistants in undergraduate courses, after which a student may audition for the opportunity to teach his or her own course. Advice and feedback are provided by faculty members who are nationally recognized for teaching undergraduate economics.

Progression through the program takes four to five years. Students complete core coursework and then specialize in two fields before writing the dissertation.


Applicants must have a bachelor’s degree or equivalent from a recognized institution. Students are expected to have completed and performed well in courses that correspond to the UA courses listed below.


  • ECON 361 Intermediate Microeconomics
  • MATH 122A and MATH 122B Calculus I with Applications
  • MATH 129 Calculus II
  • MATH 215 Linear Algebra
  • MATH 223 Vector Calculus


  • ECON 418 Econometrics
  • MATH 323 Real Analysis
  • MATH 461 Elements of Statistics


We’re focused but expert. We’re world leaders in experimental economics and economic history, plus have top faculty in industrial organization and labor economics.

View Economics PhD Faculty

Current Students

Meet Eller's current Economics PhD students and job market candidates, who represent a wide array of economic research pursuits.

Meet Economics PhD Students

PhD Job Market Candidates

Check out our impressive Economics PhD job market candidates.

Meet Economics PhD Job Market Candidates

Faculty-Student Interaction

The Department encourages extensive faculty-student interaction by maintaining a relatively small doctoral program and by selecting students whose interests are consistent with our faculty members' research.

This faculty-student interaction generally leads to productive research collaborations: nearly every student who has received a PhD in the Department has written articles jointly with one or more of the department's faculty members.

Student Awards

Jeong Yeol Kim (2022-2023)
Jay Dhar (2021-2022)
Katherine Hauck (2021-2022)
Laura Taylor (2021-2022)
Chase Eck (2020-2021)
Wenhao Wu (2018-2019)

Erin McGuire (2015-2017)
Keith Meyers (2016-2017)
Collin Weigel (2013-2014)
Theresa Gutberlet (2012-2013)
Taylor Jaworski (2012-2013)

Shariq Mohammed (2017-2018)
Mariana Zerpa (2015-2016)

Shuya He (2020-2021)
Elaine Rhee (2020-2021)
Austin Drukker (2020-2021)
Katherine Hauck (2020-2021)
Chase Eck (2019-2020)
Elaine Rhee (2019-2020)
Elaine Rhee (2018-2019)
Kelli Marquardt (2018-2019)
Wenhao Wu (2018-2019)
Phuong Ho (2017-2018)
Sean Inoue (2017-2018)
Stephen Roberts (2015-2016)
Mariana Zerpa (2015-2016)
Anatolii Kokoza (2015-2016)
Quyen Nguyen (2015-2016)
Sebastian Fleitas (2014-2015)

This list is not meant to be all inclusive but instead is an example of some other grants and fellowships our students have been awarded since 2013.

Arizona Board of Regents Doctoral Research Grant ($5,000)
Shane Thompson (2013)

Center for Management Innovations in Healthcare ($5,000)
Chase Eck (2019-2020)

Economics History Ken Sokoloff Dissertation Fellowship ($15,000)
Laura Davidoff Taylor (2018-2019)
Theresa Gutberlet (2012-2013) 

Economics History Association Exploratory Travel Grant
Kate Hauck (2020-2021)
Cong Liu (2013-2014)

Soudeh Mirghasemi (2013-2014)
Taylor Jaworski (2012-2013)

Institute for Humane Studies at George Mason Conference and Research Grant
Kyle Wilson (2014-2015)

McGuire Small Research Grant Award for the 2013-14 year: Doctoral Awards ($2,500)
Erin McGuire (2017-2018)
Taylor Jaworski (2013-2014)
Jianjing Lin (2013-2014)

National Institute for Transportation and Communities Dissertation Fellowship ($15,000)
Austin Drukker (2022-2023)

NET Institute Summer Grant ($3,000)
Wei Zhou (2020)
Kyle Wilson (2015)

Start Your Journey to the Top of Your Field

Small class sizes. A great faculty-to-doctoral-student ratio. Incredible research resources. A stellar track record. And you.

Contact us with any questions, or if you're ready to apply to the Eller Doctoral Program in Economics, start your application below. We look forward to making breakthroughs together.

Apply Now