The University of Arizona
Executive of the Year Luncheon 


Kent McClelland
Chairman and CEO of
Shamrock Foods Company

Dean Karthik Kannan of the Eller College of Management cordially invites you to a shared meal with Tucson community members over interesting discussions with the third-generation leader behind the 100-year old, family-owned-and-operated company.



W. Kent McClelland is the third-generation leader behind the 100-year old, family-owned-and-operated, Forbes 100 privately held company. Shamrock’s family of companies includes Shamrock Foods- the largest independent foodservice company in the West, and top five in the United States - and Shamrock Farms, one of the largest family-owned and operated dairies nationwide. Under Kent’s leadership, the company has experienced tremendous growth with its foodservice distribution footprint expanding to encompass nine distribution centers in seven states across the Western US. The company has also revolutionized dairy to be a national beverage player, with manufacturing locations in Arizona and Virginia supporting national brand presence and continued growth. A sense of family and the importance of community are the driving forces behind McClelland’s professional and personal life.

"For Shamrock, growth is about taking better care of our customers, associates and suppliers. By being nimble, focused, transparent and willing to take appropriate risks, we’ve proven we’re more innovative and effective for all of our partners than the competition.”

Pictured: Shamrock’s 2nd Generation, Norman McClelland and 3rd Generation, Kent McClelland 

Friday, April 28, 2023

12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Registration begins at 11:30 a.m.

JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort
3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745
$100 per person ($30 tax-deductible)

The deadline to RSVP has passed. Please contact Kasey Barghout at with questions.

Sponsorship Opportunities

Executive Sponsor $10,000*

  • ​​Logo on event webpage, signage, slideshow and program
  • Two tables (includes 20 tickets)
  • Follow-up recognition in e-newsletter, emailed to approximately 25,000 individuals

*$8,600 tax deductible

Contributing Sponsor $5,000*

  • Logo on event webpage and slideshow
  • Two tables (includes 20 tickets)

*$3,600 tax deductible

Table Sponsor $1,500*

  • Logo on event slideshow
  • One table (includes 10 tickets)

*$800 tax deductible




The deadline to sponsor the event has passed. Please contact Kasey Barghout at with questions.

Thank you to our Sponsors!

Executive Sponsor
Nancy and Peter Salter

Contributing Sponsor
The Ackerley Family

Executives Honored In Previous Years

Established in 1983 by the Eller College of Management National Board of Advisors, the University of Arizona Executive of the Year Award honors individuals who exemplify executive qualities in private enterprise and public service.

2019 Terry Lundgren, Macy’s

2018 Scott Cook, Intuit

2017 Cathy Engelbert, Deloitte

2016 Fredrick W. Smith, FedEx

2015 Sam Fox, Fox Restaurant Concepts

2014 Janet Napolitano, University of California System

2013 Larry Baer, San Francisco Giants

2012 Robert Gates, U.S. Secretary of Defense

2011 Howard Schultz, Starbucks

2010 Robert Keegan, Goodyear

2009 Donald R. Keough, Allen & Company

2008 F. Warren Hellman, Hellman & Friedman

2007 John W. Rowe, Exelon Corporation

2006 James E. Press, Toyota Motor Sales


Contact Eller Associate Director of Special Events, Kasey Barghout, at or (520) 621-2900.