MIS Graduate Scholarship and Award Recipients


It is with pride and gratefulness that we are able to provide the following awards and scholarships to our students. We thank each and every sponsor below for their generous contributions to help us help our students Shape the Future of IT.


Established in 2020, the Chen-Chow Bear Down Scholarship is available to students from under-represented groups, with a goal toward engaging students from Native Nations in the Eller College and MIS. Students of Native American descent, as well as students who have a demonstrated interest in the Hispanic and Black American cultures, are encouraged to apply, regardless of their current GPA. 

The Scholarship is part of the Bear Down Scholars Program that provides opportunities for scholarship recipients to engage in activities designed to help them be successful at Eller and to increase their understanding of what MIS is and what a job in MIS might look like.

The Chen-Chow Bear Down Scholars Program was established by Dr. Hsinchun Chen and his wife, Dr. Hsiao-Hui (Sherry) Chow. Dr. Hsinchun Chen is a Regents Professor and holds the Brown Family Chair in Management and Technology, in the Eller College of Management at the University of Arizona. He has served the MIS department and the University for over 30 years and has been a prolific researcher. Dr. Sherry Chow is a Research Professor of Medicine at the University of Arizona Cancer Center. She has led the cancer center’s Analytical Chemistry Shared Resource since 2001 and co-led the Cancer Prevention and Control program since 2015.

Both Drs. Chen and Chow have worked with Native American students in health and technology at UArizona over the years and have strong affinity with Native American culture and heritage.

Award winners

FALL 2020
Bear Down Technology Scholar Award Bear Down Trailblazer Scholar Award
Keishaun Aspaas Christopher Alonzo
  Shane Ashley
  Keishaun Aspaas
  Jaisen Brown
  Isaac Desjarlais
  Mikal Gene
  Joshua Lambert
  Cheyanna Shepaerd

Established in 2020, the David C. Spinelli Perseverance Award is being established to support an award for a full-time student(s) in the Eller College of Management in the Department of Management Information Systems who is persevering in the face of great difficulties, to be used for the recipient(s) educational expenses. 

Award winners

Fall 2020

  • Donna Doss
  • Mayukh Bhattacharyya 

This award was established in 2020 by Sagar Samtani, Assistant Professor and Grant Thornton Scholar at the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University and Edlin Garcia, Ph.D. Student and Presidential Diversity Fellow at the School of Public Health at Indiana University. 

Samtani and Garcia are both first generation US citizens. Samtani’s parents immigrated from India, while Garcia’s parents immigrated from El Salvador. Samtani earned his Ph.D. in 2018 (MIS), MSMIS in 2014 and BSBA (MIS) in 2013 from the University of Arizona. Garcia earned her Masters of Public Health at the University of South Florida in 2019 and her BA in Global Studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara in 2013. Education, diversity, work-ethic, and inclusiveness have played an essential role in both of their lives. 

"Oftentimes, it is one experience in life that can help shape a professional career. Attending a conference, introductions at professional meetings, and professional trainings can all provide the seeds to launch an exciting and high-impact career. This award aims to provide a mechanism for first-generation graduate students for professional development purposes. We hope that students can use these funds to expand the diversity of well-trained professionals in the workforce, specifically in the areas of computing, cybersecurity, and healthcare. " 

Award winners

Fall 2020

  • Shane Burton
  • Yaying Lin